Top 15 Zombie Movies pt. 2

This is the second part of my list of top 15 zombie movies ever.  : )

10. Re-Animator (1985)

Based on a short story written by H.P. Lovecraft, Re-Animator is surely one of the most recognizable movies ever made. Like many other zombie movies, it also has some comedy elements in it that make it even better. Re-animator also spawned 2 sequels, which I, unfortunately, haven’t seen yet but I heard they are good. I will give them a try soon but I fear they won’t manage to create the atmosphere (and originality) that was in the first part. Oh yeah, I nearly forgot to mention that it has a really interesting soundtrack. All in all, Re-Animator is a classic.

My Rating: 8/10


9. Shaun of the Dead (2004)

A movie like Shaun of the Dead needs no special introduction. Every comedy/horror fan should be familiar with it. It is surely one of the best modern movies from both genres. Because of its perfect combination of intelligent humor, awesome performances made by Simon Pegg and Nick Frost and, well,  zombies, Shaun of the Dead soon became a cult movie which can be found in every “Top Zombie Movies” list. Definitely a movie to check out furthermore. Btw “Ever felt like you were surrounded by zombies?”  : )

My Rating: 8/10

8. Dead Snow aka Død snø (2009)

I’ve already wrote a review of this movie, you can read it here. Briefly, Dead Snow is a fantastic Norwegian Horror/Comedy with nazi zombies! It was one of the best movies of its year and, as you can see, has a very high ranking in my list. It is a very enjoyable gory experience that has many references to other cult horror movies like The Evil Dead. A movie that really deserves more attention because it is fun, fun, fun! By the way, many people took this movie way too serious so they found themselves to be disappointed by it. Don’t make the same mistake.

My Rating: 9/10

7. Zombieland (2009)

Zombieland was also one of the best movies of its year, along with Dead Snow. It is an extremly fun roadtrip movie with zombies, which offers very likeable, developed characters and many funny scenes. Despite the fact that Zombieland was slightly predictable from time to time, it still was a perfect movie to watch. I’d even dare to say that it was genre breaking in its own special way. Honestly, I can’t wait to watch the sequel, which should be finished next year.

My Rating: 9/10

6. Cemetery Man aka Dellamorte Dellamore (1994)

What can I say about this masterpiece? It is much more than your average Horror/Comedy. Dellamorte Dellamore even has a wonderful romantic story, beautiful storytelling and characters. It is an astonishing experience that made a huge impact on me. The main actor in it is Rupert Everett, most notable for being an inspiration for Dylan Dog’s character. This movie is perfect in many different ways. If there are still horror/non horror fans that haven’t seen it yet, do it now, you won’t be disappointed.

My Rating: 9/10

That’s all for now. Pt. 3 of my list coming tomorrow and then will you see my top 5 zombie movies ever.

*Edit*: Now that I think about it, I kinda prefer Shaun of the Dead over Re-Animator so I changed their places.

One Response to “Top 15 Zombie Movies pt. 2”

  1. Nice mix of horror and comedy on this list.

Leave a Reply

