Dead Set (2008)

Director: Yann Demange

Writer: Charlie Brooker

Plot: During a fictional series of Big Brother, a zombie outbreak occurs, but the house-mates are unaware of the impending doom outside of the Big Brother House.

Cast: Jaime Winstone – Kelly

Andy Nyman – Patrick

Kevin Eldon – Joplin

Riz Ahmed – Riq

Adam Deacon – Space

Warren Brown – Marky

Review (spoilers):

Today’s review will be a little different because Dead set is not a movie but a British TV mini series. A total of 5 episodes have been aired (the length of the first one was 45 mins, the rest had a 25 min airing time, all in all, Dead set’s full length is about 2 hours). In it we follow a fictional series of Big Brother, which unexpectedly “ends” when a zombie outbreak occurs. When I heard the concept of this series, I was already interested in it because the zombie genre definitely needed something new, original and fresh by now. It needed something like Dead set.

I must admit I was a little sceptical about it at first. I had absolutely no idea how were they planning to merge two completely different things, like a zombie apocalypse and big brother, into one series. I’m so glad I was wrong because it worked perfectly after all. Let me describe you the plot synopsis furthermore so you can imagine it more easily. The majority of the characters are Big Brother competitors who are accompanied with few more survivors and they all spend most of the time in the Big Brother house trying to find an escape from this menace. I was afraid of how would the Big Brother aspect (an original and great idea) look like but it fits perfectly in the overall atmosphere. It looks very realistic, possibly because they even brought Davina McCall (she is one of the hosts and presenters in real British Big Brother) to act her everyday job. Besides that, the idea of a fictional BB forces us to meet some interesting and one dimensional characters. Don’t get me wrong, this series brings one dimensional characters to a completely new level, in a good way (because the competitors in real BB shows also seem “one dimensional”). Actors did their roles perfectly, some characters even had a slightly twisted sense of humour which is surely a plus to the overall movie rating. To conclude this, the BB aspect of Dead set was a great and amazing idea.

Now I have to discuss the second aspect of Dead set, the zombie one.  The effects on zombies were nicely done and they looked really scary. I don’t know why their eyes had to be so extremely white but it was a decent detail. Of course, where would be a decent zombie flick without all the blood and gore? I was amazed of how many of those scenes were in Dead set, I didn’t expect so much of them in a TV mini series: heads are being slammed, people are being eaten alive and many zombies are being shot to death. But the biggest problem with those action scenes is the camera, which can ge really fast sometimes so you can’t see almost anything. I was really bugged by that. Actually, the camera isn’t the only problem in Dead set. Due to the shorth length of the episodes, some of them can get very predictable. I almost predicted everything what would happen in the end (btw, despite I predicted it, the ending was perfect), but no matter, even with those flaws Dead set is a highly good series with some interesting and innovative ideas.

My Rating: 8/10… Dead set is a breath of fresh air in the zombie genre. Seriously, watch it.

One Response to “Dead Set (2008)”

  1. […] more than good. I’ve already written about this series before so you can check my full review here. As I said before, it truly is a breath of fresh air in the zombie genre. Be sure to watch it if […]

Leave a Reply

