Phenomena (1985)

Director: Dario Argento

Writer: Dario Argento

Franco Ferrini

Tagline: Jennifer Has A Few Million Close Friends. She’s Going To Need Them All.

Plot: A young girl, with an amazing ability to communicate with insects, is transferred to an exclusive Swiss boarding school, where her unusual capability might help solve a string of murders.

Cast: Jennifer Connelly – Jennifer Corvino

Daria Nicolodi – Frau Brückner

Dalila Di Lazzaro – Headmistress

Patrick Bauchau – Inspector Rudolf Geiger

Donald Pleasence – Professor John McGregor

Review (spoilers):

I must admit I haven’t seen all Dario Argento’s movies (far from that) but some of his movies (like Profondo Rosso & Suspiria) left me simply breathless. They are genuine masterpieces. I wish I could have said that about Phenomena too. What I love most about Argento is that you don’t know what to expect of his movies, you just can’t predict the direction in which will they go. This wasn’t the case with Phenomena, because while I was watching it I wasn’t able to shake this feeling that I already seen all of it somewhere before. It was full of elements that can also be seen in Suspiria (the luminance at some parts),  Nightmare On Elm Street (the concept with troubled sleep and doctors on the operating table) & Carrie (the troubled girl with supernatural powers).  In addition to that, I haven’t found the idea of communicating with bugs to be thrilling at all. Those communications occur only 3 or 4 times during the movie and I felt like they are being used in such a wrong way. It seemed their purpose was to be used as a Deus ex machina. I was expecting that the ability of communication with bugs would move the plot around. Instead, I felt like that ability was part of some sub plot just waiting to be exposed in a grand finale at the end of the movie, and it was.  As you may conclude, the whole script writing could have been a little better.

However, don’t get the wrong idea. Phenomena is far from being a bad movie….or from being a good movie. It’s just average. The best thing in this movie was the atmosphere at some time. It was dark and even depressive from time to time….Only to be eventually ruined by a horrible soundtrack. I forgot to mention that before. The soundtrack of Phenomena is simply awful, I just combine Argento with heavy metal bands (like Iron Maiden & Motorhead) whose songs are played really too loud. Apparently there is a movie cut in which the heavy metal soundtracks are deleted. So if you are going to watch Phenomena try looking for that cut (it’s called Creepers).  Now that I’m speaking again about the bad aspects  of this movie, I just have to mention that monkey. Yes, Phenomena has a monkey in it which purpose is also being a Deus ex machina but I won’t spoil that part, al though it was…ridiculous.

Now I really have to say something good about this movie : ). It isn’t bad at all if you like watching slashers with some unnatural parts in them since the murders in Phenomena were done really good. I also liked the gore in some scenes. However, that wasn’t enough to entertain a consumer like me, just not my cup of tea. Apart from all that, I have to mention that the script isn’t a complete failure, there even were some twist that you might find interesting.

To conlude everything I must say that Phenomena is a movie you should definitely give a try, I’m not saying it’s worth it but all in all it’s an experience you won’t soon forget, despite I found it to be pretty bad.

My Rating: 5/10… I was really expecting a little more from Dario Argento.

3 Responses to “Phenomena (1985)”

  1. the great thing about jennifier connelly is that she still looks hot eventhough she is already a bit old these days ,

  2. Jen connelly is the actress that i have a huge crush. here eyes are really very pretty ‘**

  3. ,”- I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives great information “:’

Leave a Reply

