28 Weeks Later (2007)

Director: Juan Carlos Fresnadillo

Writers: Rowan Joffe

Juan Carlos Fresnadillo

Enrique López Lavigne &

Jesús Olmo

Tagline: It All Begins Again

Plot: Six months after the rage virus was inflicted on the population of Great Britain, the US Army helps to secure a small area of London for the survivors to repopulate and start again. But not everything goes to plan.

Cast: Robert Carlyle – Don

Catherine McCormack – Alice

Rose Byrne – Scarlet

Jeremy Renner – Doyle

Harold Perrineau – Flynn

My Rating ( spoilers ):

I have to apologize for not writing any posts yesterday but I was really busy, excuse me for that. But let’s not waste more of our time on that.

As you may know, we entered the first annual Seq Week here at Drugsbunny’s horror reviews so let’s get started.

Some time ago I watched 28 Days Later and I didn’t like it but, luckily for me, I heard it had a sequel named 28 Weeks later. It was apparently a very good movie which grade on imdb didn’t disappoint. I’m a big zombie/infected fan so I couldn’t wait to watch this one. After doing so, I was very surprised, in a positive way, that it’s so much better than than 28 Days Later. 28 Weeks later just took all the good things from the first movie but made a different story, it was a recipe for success. So in 28 Weeks Later you’ll still have awesome soundtracks and creepy infected puking blood.

The plot of 28 Weeks Later (unlike 28 Days Later) revolves more around families. A simply average family become the key figure in fighting the infection which I found to be much better than the idea of complete strangers fighting their way together. I have to compliment all the actors in this one, especially the children ones, they were amazing. Considering that this movie has a family element it is also more dramatic and traumatic than Days Later. There were some really sad scenes in it which will surely make you to react somehow, it is hard to stay cool-headed after seeing them. All of those dramatic, post-apocalyptic atmosphere is followed by gray illumination. Simply perfect.

But, of course, don’t think that this is just a wannabe horror family drama (like let’s say Carriers – which sucked btw). If you want so see some real zombie ass pounding action and get scared from time to time, 28 Weeks Later will please your appetites. The action segment is perfectly combined with some dramatic scenes like when the snipers start to shoot everyone. Oh, yeah, you also have a little comedy element in some scenes, especially the one when a large group of zombies gets killed using a helicopter and it’s propeller. Actually, that was more bad ass than funny but I found it to be hilarious in some strange, wicked way. I also found the horror scenes to be nice, nothing special but still worth watching.

The bad side of this movie is definitely it’s length. It takes too much time for the film to develop itself. And when it does, it just ends too quick. So it is somehow bad edited. And I just couldn’t get into that simple medical solution for the infection, I found it to be a little too naive.

Anyways, this movie is MUCH better than 28 Days Later. If you want my advice, watch this one and not it’s precursor, you won’t be so sorry.

My Rating: 8/10… Gives a good name to an average serial

Leave a Reply

