Drag Me To Hell (2009)

Director: Sam Raimi

Writers: Sam Raimi (written by) &
Ivan Raimi (written by)

Tagline: Christine Brown has a good job, a great boyfriend, and a bright future. But in three days, she’s going to hell.

Plot: A loan officer ordered to evict an old woman from her home finds herself the recipient of a supernatural curse, which turns her life into a living hell. Desperate, she turns to a seer to try and save her soul, while evil forces work to push her to a breaking point.

Cast: Alison Lohman – Christine Brown

Justin Long – Clay Dalton

Lorna Raver – Sylvia Ganush

Dileep Rao – Rham Jas

David Paymer – Mr. Jacks

Review (spoilers):

I think Mr. Sam Raimi needs no further introduction in the horror movie industry. His Evil Dead trilogy has a cult world wide status (and are one of the best movies ever made, if you ask me).  So last year Raimi made his new horror movie entitled Drag Me To Hell. I was instantly a little sceptic when I heard about this movie, I thought that Raimi maybe lost his touch over the years, I was so wrong. Too bad that Bruce Campbell doesn’t appear in this one, but no matter, it was good anyways ; ).

I’ll give you an advice: watch this movie with your friends while having some booze around you. This movie has a perfect party mood, it is extremely fun, has a quite good sense of humor, it is gory from time to time and it’s full of really cheap scares, classic Raimi. During the movie we follow a girl named Christine Brown (excellently played by Alison Lohman) who gets in a fight with a gipsy woman and gets a curse on her.  Soon after that infamous fight scene Christine finds out that she will go to hell in three day if she somehow doesn’t break the curse. Until the last minute, I wasn’t sure how will the movie end (don’t worry, I won’t spoil too much) so the script was done really nice, finally something worth watching. I enjoyed myself so much while doing so. As I said before, get yourself ready for many funny scenes. The combination of horror and comedy  works very well in the movie industry (for now) and Sam Raimi is the ultimate combinator of those genres. It is a definitely must see movie.

Now for some bad sides of the movie (which are minor). I must repeat myself one more time: this is classic Raimi which may be a little problem. While I was watching the Evil Dead trilogy I thought to myself from time to time “wtf did they just do that?”. Unfortunately, the same thoughts haven’t followed me through Drag Me To Hell because the scenes in it are expected. They are definitely not predictable because I don’t have a clue what will happen next but if you know what is Raimi capable of in his movies, you won’t be so surprised when some sick shit occurs. I hope this somehow explained my sentence that the some scenes in the movie are “expected”.

Drag Me To Hell is surely one of the best horror movies of i’s year but I fear it may not gain further recognition because there is nothing “special” in it.

My Rating: 8/10… Go see it if you haven’t alredy.

Leave a Reply

