The Collector (2009)

Director: Marcus Dunstan

Writers: Patrick Melton (screenplay) &

Marcus Dunstan (screenplay)

Tagline: He always takes one

Plot: Desperate to repay his debt to his ex-wife, an ex-con plots a heist at his new employer’s country home, unaware that a second criminal has also targeted the property, and rigged it with a series of deadly traps.

Cast: Madeline Zima – Jill

Josh Stewart – Arkin

Andrea Roth – Victoria

Juan Fernández  – The Collector

Daniella Alonso – Lisa

Review (spoilers):

First of all, I have to say I don’t usually like movies like The Collector which rely mostly on senseless gore and blood (as I was expecting), but this time I was pretty amazed because there is much more in it.

As you can see, the plot is a very simple one, it almost all the time follows the same routine which is that a psycho killer traps and tortures his victims. You can’t expect any good twists from it, you can’t expect a very well written script and of course, you can’t expect an original idea. However, this movie made a good impression on me without all mentioned bad things. It’s atmosphere is on a decent level, I’ll have to compliment the soundtrack which perfectly matched some of the scenes.  The combination of Bauhaus’ song Bela Lugosi’s Dead and some freaky awaiting for a trap (or something) to occur left me breathless.  It would be very wrong of me if I don’t mention the luminance. All the green / orange / red color ( I can’t remember what colors were there exactly ) in some scenes made a big part in creating such a tense atmosphere.

I also have to compliment the actors, they were nicely chosen for their roles. None of them is a big, awesome Hollywood star which did perfectly fit the mood. All characters did seem somehow real and possible because of that (except the character of the main bad guy, I’ll say something later about him).  As I said before, the whole cast made a good job, nothing perfect, nothing special but very decent. I hope to see Josh Stewart in more movies, I liked his acting the best.

Now it’s time to discuss the things that really move the movie around – traps and gadgets. As I said, I usually don’t watch films like The Collector so I can’t compare it to other similar ones.  But from my point of view, all ideas for traps and all the torture / killing scenes seemed pretty nice, nothing amazing but still worth watching. Somehow my attention wasn’t so focused on this “details”.  If you are an average movie watcher or you just got into the horror genre, I think you’ll be more than pleased. The best torturing scene to me was the one with some big bugs, roaches, or whatever the fuck they were, that was painful.

Now on to some bad sides. The worst thing about this movie is the character of the bad guy, named Collector. We don’t know nothing about him, just some random thrown images, you don’t see any reasons why would someone do such horrible things. Without a decent explanation for his deeds, the film just starts to seem unreal and towards the end you see that he has even some supernatural powers. A chandelier with knives attached to it falls on his head and he continues to walk around to make more menace (during that, he was almost unscarred), that didn’t have much sense to me. Note to the movie director: If you are going for a psychotic killer in your movies take some time to introduce the public to his history, explain his motives a little than continue with all that bloodshed. If you go for the bloodshed first and put everything else in second plan it is possible you’re killer will have some crappy charisma. I think there is going to be a sequel to The Collector, I hope the killer’s supernatural powers are going to be explained in it.

Except the awful characterization of the bad guy, this movie is a good watch.

My Rating: 7/10… Nice to kill a hour and a half of your time + you get some really cool soundtracks in it and more.  Check it out.

Leave a Reply

