Eraserhead (1977)

Director: David Lynch

Writer: David Lynch

Tagline: In Heaven Everything Is Fine.

Plot: Henry Spencer tries to survive his industrial environment, his angry girlfriend, and the unbearable screams of his newly born mutant child.

Cast: Jack Nance – Henry Spencer

Charlotte Stewart – Mary X

Allen Joseph – Mr. X

Jeanne Bates – Mrs. X

Judith Roberts – Beautiful Girl Across The Hall

Review:

Actually, there isn’t much to say about this movie because it has no plot. Yeap, that is true, the script of it was 21 pages long. So what makes it worth watching? My answer would be: nothing but then I wouldn’t look like an intellectual. Let me explain this furthermore:

This movie is made of random images who don’t make any sense nor are connected much to each other but it’s still “art”. I once read a comment from some guy who said: “I wonder how much shit can David Lynch put in his movies and it would still be called art”.  This pretty much sums it all up.

So why is it all popular? Why is it called good? Why is it the classic of the genre? First of all, try to imagine me writing this review in a different way. Writing how the movie was brilliant and awesome, trying to explain it to stupid masses. Wouldn’t I look cool and intellectual? I bet I would.  But, actually Eraserhead is still dull and stupid, I don’t like the whole “intellectual” and “you have to love it” feeling about it. And I don’t like all the individual attempts that try to find some deeper story behind it.  Just not my cup of tea.

The good side of the movie is the atmosphere which is very good on some parts and worth watching. Too bad the absence of plot and the whole intellectual feeling makes the overall impression so bad. There are also some disturbing scenes which I found enjoyable. Anyways, I recommend the movie for everyone so you could see some original ideas (which unfortunately failed) and the whole atmosphere. Hope you will find it to be much better than I did.

That’s the whole review, I’m out of ideas for this one.

My Rating: 4/10 . .. It had huge potential, Too bad it is so crappy.

Leave a Reply

