The Descent (2005)

the-descentDirector: Neil Marshall

Writer: Neil Marshall

Tagline: Scream your last breath.

Plot: A caving expedition goes horribly wrong, as the explorers become trapped and ultimately pursued by a strange breed of predators.

Cast: Shauna MacDonald – Sarah

Natalie Mendoza – Juno

Alex Reid – Beth

Saskia Mulder – Rebecca

MyAnna Buring – Sam

Review (spoilers):

The movie starts off with a car crash where the main character Sarah loses her husband and daughter. Early through the movie we see that it will be  gory. The car crash scene is followed by a freaky and strange hospital scene, beats me if I know what happened to those lights there and why they were suddenly turning off, was that some kind of dream/illusion or whatever? No matter, it didn’t kill the mood that was slowly building. A year after the tragic Sarah. accompanied by her 5 friends. goes to an expedition where they go caving. In those caves they got lost and some bat people of some sort(or should we call them batmans?) attack them. They all die in the end except Sarah and that sums the whole plot I’d say.

The background story for watching this movie starts like this: I wanted a good movie to watch with my girlfriend on Halloween (btw this review is dedicated to her – I love you very much : )  ) and I asked on one forum for some  recommendations.  One random guy said to me that The Descent was the best choice and he was right! Through all the movie my girlfriend and I were scared as shit, we were shivering all the time and paniced.

There is just something naturally scary about claustrophobic, dark places and when they are filled with strange creatures it gets even more horrifying.  The camera angles were masterful and creepy, I found myself simply amazed by them.  I also liked the light:  flares, torches or camera through night vision, it doesn’t matter. What matters is that they were filling the rooms with creepy neon green & red lights. In that kind of atmosphere you don’t want to meet some shrieking creatures.

Something about creatures now : you can hear their shrieks and even see their silhouettes through the whole movie (even before they are officially seen), that just builds up the tense and it is very creepy. They crawl around somewhere all the time. Effects on them were done very nicely. You actually can believe something like that could happen to humanoid beings. It is just disturbing.

The fight scenes were also done awesome. They are nice and bloody (as fight scenes are supposed to be :]) but despite all that dark you can actually see what’s going on. I also have to comment the scene where that girl breaks her leg. I could literally feel her pain, it was amazingly done.

The only bad thing that I found about the movie was the stupid ending. It’s so senseless and let’s say worthless. So she escapes but after few minutes we realize that was only a dream and she is still stuck in those caves and and and..and…..THAT ‘ S IT. What now??!?!? I mean, I sat through the whole movie just for you to ruin it with this ending?  Urgh! There is a sequel to this movie and I heard it’s a good one. Generally I don’t watch sequels but I think I’ll make an exception. Have to wash the taste of the stupid ending of my mouth.

Btw I watched Neil Marshall’s other horror movie : Dog Soldiers and it is fantastic, I’ll write a review about it some other day for sure. Where has this director been through all my life :]

My rating: 9/10… It would have been higher only if the ending wasn’t so..I don’t know…

One Response to “The Descent (2005)”

  1. Hi, I applaud your blog for informing people, very interesting article, keep up it coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

